Last update:

2001-11-03
9:00 p.m.
Bi-Polar version 15

Even more of my psychotic ramblings

Sound barrier

its warm

november, only a few days ago i was curling my toes togther under the sheets in a futile attempt to keep warm. But now the sun is ony my back and there are a few slight trickles of sweat down my back. The sun is beating down on me, hurting my eyes. and it is the most wonderful thing in the world.

The water is moving around me, and when i stare at it for too long I feel like i am flowing with it, luckily i am sitting, i would have fallen if i had been standing. The air is clear and crisp, and far too warm for my taste, but i would not want any of this any other way.

when I close my eyes I can hear everything. There are a few crickets that stil have not noticed that day came even though it is past noon. There are a few insects skidding across the water, a pinecone falls in, in the middle fo the lake a bird dives down, getting a fish. a mile away a few guys are revving their motorcycles. a bird has found solace in a tree nearby. The wind is whispering against myy back. there is a loud footstep in the leaves near me.

but when i open my eyes and turn there is no one there.

When I close my eyes again i can return to all the same solace, the same sounds and comforts. Then there is that damned footstep.

No one is there. At least no one that I can see, not yet.

So like I have so many times, i pretend i didnt hear it and eat my sandwich. I watch that same bird, an eagle i think, hunt for its prey while i eat a cheese sandwhich.

crunch, another footstep in the leaves

Someone is coming.

or it will be

The sound precedes the act.